Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Focus on Rural Tourism

Union Tourism Minister Shri Subodh Kant Sahai has called for enhanced focus on Rural Tourism. Presenting the National Tourism Awards for 2009-10 here today he said that the Ministry of Tourism will carry out an audit of its Rural Tourism Projects to ensure that this important initiative is not lost. He said that Rural Tourism while providing a varied and vivid experience can also expose the visitors to different ways to live life.
Shri Sahai said that the key for the development of tourism in future would be research, collaboration, innovation, public private partnership and sustainability. “While culture and heritage is going to remain as mainstay of India tourism, the world is going to find our new products like Wellness and Medical Tourism, MICE (Meetings, Incentives, Conventions and Exhibitions) Tourism, Adventure and Sports Tourism including Golf and Polo very attractive”, the Minister added.
Stating that India is an excellent destination for making films, Shri Sahai called upon the international film industry to take advantage of beautiful locales of the country.The Minister also assured the tourism industry that the Ministry’s endeavor remains to work hand-in-hand with the industry and sincere towards its genuine demands and it would not hesitate to champion the cause of the industry with various authorities.
Lok Sabha Speaker Smt.Meira Kumar was the Chief Guest at the awards presentation ceremony. Cine artist Priyanka Chopra was the Guest of Honour.Best State/UT award for tourism infrastructure and tourism related programmes under North-East category went to Sikkim while for rest of India it went to Madhya Pradesh. Best tourism Film award went to “ Karnataka “ produced by Karnataka Tourism. Karnataka Tourism and Rajasthan Tourism were adjudged joint winners for Best Tourism Promotion Publicity Material by States/ UTs. Bhootgarh Rural tourism Project of Punjab won the Best Rural Tourism Project award.Caravan Bus of MP Tourism won the Most Innovative/Unique Tourism Project award.
The Ministry of Tourism, Government of India presents National Tourism Awards to various segments of the travel and tourism industry every year. These awards are presented to State Governments / Union Territories, classified hotels, heritage hotels, approved travel agents, tour operators and tourist transport operators, individuals and other private organizations in recognition of their performances in their respective fields and also to encourage healthy competition with an aim to promote tourism.The National Tourism Awards have over the years emerged as the most prestigious recognition of achievements in the travel, tourism and hospitality sectors of the country since its inception.

No comments:

Indonesia for tougher anti-terror law ON  MAY 25, 2018  BY  NARESH SAGAR LEAVE A COMMENT EDIT Indonesia has passed a new law that wi...