Skip to main content

Earth Sciences Foundation Day Celebrated

The 9th Foundation Day of the Ministry of Earth Sciences were celebrated here 27 July  in the presence of Dr. Ashwani Kumar, Minister of State for Planning, Science & Technology and Earth Sciences, Dr Shailesh Nayak, Secretary, Earth Sciences and Dr. R.K. Pachauri, DG, the Energy and Resources Institute.

Speaking on the occasion, Dr. Ashwani Kumar announced the institutional endeavours lined up for implementation during the XII Plan including areas of earthquake research, monitoring of glaciers, role of Himalayan ecosystem, understanding monsoon’s variability and improving skills in short-term, medium-range extended-range and seasonal scale prediction of rainfall.

The Minister said that major plan have been drawn to deploy a high density observation network and to develop warning systems for hazards like cloud bursts, fog, cyclones etc; experiments are on to obtain sustainable energy from ocean through ocean current, thermal gradient, waves etc. are is being planned. Low thermal desalinization technology is being scaled up for sourcing fresh water from sea; expensive exploration of hydrothermal vents on the mid-ocean ridge in the South West Indian ocean is being planned to implement our capacity to source metallogenesis for precious and strategic metal sulfide; and technical capabilities are being continuous augmented in deep sea mining to access proven availability of polymetalic module, gas hydrates etc at a depth ranging from 200 mtrs to 6000 mtrs.

He assured the support of the Government for augmenting High Performance Computing facility from the existing 120 T flops to 800 T flops to meet the emerging computing needs of all MoES institutions.

The Minister also gave away the awards on the occasion. The National Award for Ocean Science & Technology was given to Dr. Satish Ramnath Shetye, the National Award for Atmospheric Science & Technology was given to Prof. J. Srinivasan, Certificate of Merit for Scientist/Engineer in Ocean Science & Technology were given to Dr. Manish Tiwari, Dr. V. Ranga Rao, Dr. Basanta Kumar Jena and Shri Venkat Seshu Redden, Certificate of Merit for Scientist/Engineer in Atmospheric Science & Technology were given to Dr. Ashish Kumar Mitra, Dr. S.D. Pawar, Dr. Kripan Ghosh and Dr. Ashok Kumar Das.


Popular posts from this blog

Dear N.K, Over the past few weeks and months,March 2, 2017 Dear N.K, Over the past few weeks and months, we’ve been hard at work in inviting major rail operators to share their success stories at the Rail Power World Congress 2017. I would like to share with you the progress of the premium conferences. We’ve confirmed amazing names like Auckland Transport, Network Rail, RTA Dubai, SNCF, Wiener Linien and more. If you provide energy or power solutions to rail operators and would like to speak alongside senior rail executives, this is the right platform for you. Last 2 speaking slots left in the Rail Power World Congress track for solutions providers
Saina Nehwal win AustralianOpen2016.JUNE 12, 2016EDIT PM Modi  congratulated  Indian ace shutter on her win. Congratulations..!!  beats Sun Yu of China to win. Saina Nehwal clinched her second Australian Open title after defeating China’s Sun Yu in a thrilling three-game final of the Super Series badminton tournament today. The 26-year-old from Hyderabad eked out a 11-21 21-14 21-19 over the World No. 12 Sun in a fighting summit clash that lasted an hour and 11 minutes here. Narendra Modi@narendramodi Congratulations  for the stupendous victory. The entire nation is very proud of your sporting accomplishments. 0 Euro 2016 RussianBrits Fans clashJUNE 12, 2016EDIT Russia equalized less than two minutes before the final whistle, at which point a group of Russian supporters overpowered the stewards separating the two sets of fans. The number of people injured in Marseille clashes over the past three days has risen to 35, according to French daily La …