Skip to main content

EC issues directions to CEOs of 5 poll bound states

Exit polls can be telecast after 5.30 pm on Thursday: EC

05.03.2017 12:29:49 - Exit polls can be telecast after 5.30 pm on Thursday: EC 

( - The Election Commission has issued directions to the Chief Electoral Officers (CEOs) of the five poll bound states of Punjab, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Goa and Manipur for making fool proof security arrangements for counting of votes.

These directions are in addition to those issued earlier by the Commission regarding storage and safety arrangements of EVMs, appointment of counting staff, counting
agents and counting procedures.

The Commission also had several rounds of video conferences with the CEOs and Returning Officers of all 5 States to take first hand inputs on the preparedness of the counting arrangements.

Giving details of security mechanism set up, the Senior Election Commission officer said that the ECI is not leaving any stone unturned to fair and transparent counting arrangements at all the 157 counting centres. Counting will take place at 53 centres in Punjab, 2 in Goa, 75 in Uttar Pradesh, 15 in Uttarakhand and 12 centres in Manipur.

The Election Commission has taken feedback from all political parties and candidates, based on which these additional instructions have been issued with a view to further bolster security arrangements to tackle both general as well as situation specific exigencies and ensure a smooth counting process in a transparent manner.

ECI has instructed all the CEOs and DEOs to make the above arrangements and undertake counting process cautiously, step by step and without undue haste so as to make them fool proof, the EC officer added.

The instruction includes proper barricading arrangements inside each of the counting hall with weld wires mesh to segregate the counting agents from the counting personnel and EVMs, proper arrangement for Videography in all the counting halls to record the general happenings in the counting hall for effective monitoring.

The Commission has also instructed that all counting arrangements must be completed by night of 7th March. It said, the Observers will visit the counting halls on 8th March and will send a report to the Commission on counting arrangements.
Election Commission (EC) has said that the exit polls can be telecast after 5:30 pm on Thursday.

The decision to postpone the exit poll has been taken in view of the election to be held on Thursday in the Alapur Assembly constituency in Uttar Pradesh and Karnaprayag in Uttarakhand following the demise of candidates of recogniged parties.

The period of prohibition for exit polls as per the earlier notification of the EC in the state was to end on Wednesday. EC said, the exit polls will be telecast after polling ends in these two constituencies.

The last phase of polling in Uttar Pradesh and Manipur is on Wednesday. But following the demise of two candidates in UP and Uttarakhand, the commission had postponed elections there and fixed Thursday as the new date.

According to election laws, exit polls can be telecast half-an-hour after the end of polling in all the phases and states.
Manipur, campaigning is in full swing for the second and last phase of assembly elections.

22 assembly constituencies spread over ten districts will go to polls in this phase on Wednesday.

Altogether, 98 candidates including four women are in the fray. While BJP and Congress is contesting 22 seats each, the Naga People’s Front (NPF) has fielded its candidates in 11 segments
Contact information:
Sagar media inc

Contact Person:
Naresh Sagar

Phone: 9810974027
Naresh Sagar
Phone: 9810974027


Popular posts from this blog

Dear N.K, Over the past few weeks and months,March 2, 2017 Dear N.K, Over the past few weeks and months, we’ve been hard at work in inviting major rail operators to share their success stories at the Rail Power World Congress 2017. I would like to share with you the progress of the premium conferences. We’ve confirmed amazing names like Auckland Transport, Network Rail, RTA Dubai, SNCF, Wiener Linien and more. If you provide energy or power solutions to rail operators and would like to speak alongside senior rail executives, this is the right platform for you. Last 2 speaking slots left in the Rail Power World Congress track for solutions providers
AirAsia launches Travel & Service Centre in MaldivesMay 22, 2016
AirAsia launches Travel & Service Centre in Maldives Exclusive promotion available only at Maldives ATSC with 20% discount to selected AirAsia & AirAsia X destinations

MALE, 22 MAY 2016 – AirAsia strengthened its presence in the paradise islands of Maldives with the launch of the first AirAsia Travel & Service Centre (ATSC) today, which is operated by All H Maldives Private Limited.
The centre was officiated by Honourable Mr Moosa Zameer, Minister of Tourism Maldives; Mr Hussain Jaleel, CEO of Civil Aviation Maldives; Mr Ibrahim Shareef Mohamed, Commissioner General of Customs Maldives; Mr Adil Moosa, Managing Director of Maldives Airports Company; Mr Abdullah Rasheed, Director Air Transport Maldives Civil Aviation Authority along with Ms Aireen Omar, CEO of AirAsia Berhad.
In conjunction with the launch of this ATSC, AirAsia is offering an exclusive promotion with 20% discount off selected AirAsia and AirAsia …